top of page

Art Heals (I have no doubt)


This was the first ever book I read for my diploma in the Therapeutic Arts - I absolutely loved it and would definitely recommend it to everyone who is interested in how the Arts heal.

For over two decades I've used the Arts to express and centre myself in my body, helping bring myself to a place of peace, happiness and serenity, even in times of hardship and pain, I’ve found that when I turn up at my easel (not always easy; when I find myself busy and stretched) I am at my most grounded and energised.

This week brought mixed feelings of sadness and excitement - I said goodbye to a job, and possibly a career, as I once knew it. I signed up to continue my training in the Therapeutic Arts and I've put Self Compassion at the top of my Plan B (amazingly).

Taking care of myself has not always been at the top of my 'to do list.' It was never something I learnt about as a youngest. I was taught that taking care of others and being there for them was necessary to survive life. I've also learnt that I've been extremely critical of myself. My Inner Critic taught me many things, but love and compassion was not one of them.

Today, giving myself time and space has been a blessing to reconnect to myself and the creative, fun and smiley part of myself. As Jody Day, talks about in her Reignite Weekend - Our MOJO!

My experience has shown that if I do not look after myself and give myself time and space (however that might look) I will run out of energy, I will start to become cranky, I will start finding fault with everything - myself, relationships, places and things.

Creating is a necessary part of that healing; quiet time for myself. I have no doubt that sitting at my easel, going out in nature and taking my camera or sitting with my favourite journal and writing, fills me up - it is like I come back to me. It might take a little while to remember, especially when I get busy and I forget (as I have done in the past couple of months), but when I come back, its like my body and inner child screams "THANK YOU!!!'

As I surfed the Web today, I came across this beautiful reminder of how creating helps heal from the inside out. http://www.alenahennessy.com/art-changes-lives/. I do not believe that we need to be artists. Learning our own language, our own way of mark making, choosing our colours and making our images - however they come out - is our ART! INDIVIDUAL AND LIFE GIVING!!!

The most beautiful part of my job and work has been to witness and support, lovingly my students to take the steps to stand up and let go of the inner critic. That part that says 'I can't, I'm not enough, its wrong etc. and I see that amazing person move past it and see what I can see, that 'they can.' It really is a WoW moment for me - my heart jumps for joy.

I am learning everyday that it is only with love, compassion and gentleness that this process can happen. Though I am not in any way delusional that it takes absolute courage from others and I know what it has taken me to be brave to let go of very old negative beliefs in me.

For those who wish to be part of the Grieve with Gusto workshop in 3 weeks time – there is still space. The workshop is on the 16th July, between 10 – 5 near Notting Hill Gate. It costs £95. http://www.grievewithgusto.com

I look forward to seeing you.

Until next time, with an open heart.

Helen

bottom of page