top of page

Connecting to the Earth - Frida Kahlo


Roots by Frida Khalo (1943)

I was reminded last week of the wonderful artist (who I've known and loved since I was 17) Frida Kahlo - a Nomo! She was famous for her autobiographical work. As a teenager, I just loved how she expressed her pain - I didn't know why that was so important to me - but I know now.

I love this image of her connecting to the Earth. In her bravery, she paints the background as barren, yet in the foreground she allows herself to open and nurtures the land, giving it life.

At times, when I have felt like there is nothing out there for me - that the life around me is not what I wanted or does not feed me anymore. I felt like that last year when I was deep in my grieving process of the loss of becoming a mother. It felt like no-one was talking my talk or understood me. I didn't even know what was going on - that confused phase of grief. The ground around me felt infertile, as I felt it inside.

As I continue to do my grief work today, I am reminded that at the time, it was I that turned around in those dark times to first find my tribe of fellow women. I made that brave choice of doing things I did not usually do.

I really believe the nutrients to my new life came from within - seedlings at first.

Reading the posts on Gateway Women from other women, who had been in my shoes. Then starting to write my feelings and situation, slowly.

Picking up my pen and started to write in my journal.

Walking in nature - feeling me feet on the ground.

Buying my beautiful - noisy - cat.

Creating my little alter.

I realise now that I had to reach inside and plant my womanhood and let the nutrients seep into the ground. Change happened then and I felt better.

What little seedlings are you going to plant today for your life?

bottom of page